Get Adobe Flash player

Phoenix Contact - eCatCreator as reference Application for PIM Applications

Phoenix Contact is using eCatCreator for verification of product master data created in Phoenix
Contact Product Information Management (PIM) System in eCl@ss ADVANCED data format.

Phoenix-Contact-Anwenderbericht-Bild

 

Phoenix Contact is using eCatCreator for verification of product master data created in PhoenixContact Product Information Management (PIM) System in eCl@ss ADVANCED data format.

"By using eCatCreator from Paradine implementation time of eCl@ss ADVANCED in our PIM system was reduced."

Dipl. -Ing. Josef Schmelter, Master Specialist Classification

Project Requirements

For many years Phoenix Contact uses a Product Information Management (PIM) system for maintenance of product master data. The PIM system is the source for several applications such as print and online catalogs, datasheets and configurators providing product master data in up to 23 languages. The PIM system had to be expanded to implement the requirement of providing product master data for different classification standards, so that the data can be used in customer applications. To support its processes electrical wholesale needs manufacturer product data based on ETIM classification standard. To support e-procurement processes of customers and provide engineering data for CAE systems eCl@ss classification system in ADVANCED data format has to be supported.

Solution approach

In cooperation with Paradine and the PIM system supplier several releases of the eCl@ss classification standard in ADVANCED data format have been implemented (concept creation, data modeling, Q&A). Adjustments of the PIM were implemented as well as essential new functionality was added allowing the mapping of own product structural elements to the respective eCl@ss structural elements. Once the mappings of all relevant eCl@ss ADVANCED characteristics of a class have been created, all maintained product master data associated with this class are automatically copied to the eCl@ss properties. The generated eCl@ss based product data is exported the BMEcat format and provided in the customer required languages.

eCatCreator

With "eCatCreator" Paradine provides a fast and cost-effective PC based software solution for the fast and easy creation of product descriptions based on eCl@ss. By using eCatCreator from Paradine, electronic product catalogues can be created quickly and provided to customers, in BMEcat format based on eCl@ss BASIC and ADVANCED data model. eCatCreator allows users to import, modify and verify compliance (aspects, blocks, cardinality, polymorphism, etc.) of eCl@ss and BMEcat based electronic catalogs. eCatCreator also supports mappings between eCl@ss BASIC and ADVANCED data model and enables the conversion of product data from eCl@ss ADVANCED to BASIC data model and vice versa.

Benefits of eCatCreator for Phoenix Contact

  • Prompt provision of reference data for own system implementation
  • Verification of own eCl@ss implementation in Phoenix Contact PIM system
  • Validation of electronic product catalogs exported from Phoenix Contact PIM system
  • Fast creation and provision of test catalogs for Phoenix contact in the eCl@ss ADVANCED format at an early stage
  • Mapping of Phoenix Contact product descriptions from eCl@ss ADVANCED to eCl@ss BASIC

About Phoenix Contact

Phoenix Contact is the worldwide market leader of components, systems and solutions in the area of electrical engineering, electronics and automation. Today, the family-owned company employs 13,000 people worldwide and had a turnover of 1.64 billion euros in 2013. The corporate headquarters is located in Blomberg in North Rhine-Westphalia. The Phoenix Contact Group has nine companies as well as 50 sales subsidiaries. In addition, the worldwide presence is consolidated by 30 representations in Europe and Overseas.

Download

 Phoenix Contact - Success Story-DE
 Phoenix Contact - Success Story-EN

Get Adobe Flash player

Phoenix Contact - eCatCreator als Referenzapplikation für PIM Anwendungen

Phoenix-Contact-Anwenderbericht-Bild

Mit dem eCatCreator werden die gemäß eCl@ss ADVANCED generierten Produktdaten
aus dem Phoenix Contact Product Information Management (PIM) System verifiziert.

 

Mit dem eCatCreator werden die gemäß eCl@ss ADVANCED generierten Produktdatenaus dem Phoenix Contact Product Information Management (PIM) System verifiziert.

"Durch den Einsatz des eCatCreators von Paradine konnten wir die Implementierungsdauer von eCl@ss Adcvanced in unser PIM System reduzieren."

Dipl. -Ing. Josef Schmelter, Master Specialist Classification

Aufgabenstellung

Phoenix Contact setzt seit vielen Jahren ein Produkt Informationsmanagement System (PIM) für die Pflege der Produktdaten ein. Das PIM System ist die Quelle, aus der die Produktdaten für die unterschiedlichen Applikationen, wie z.B. Print- und Online- Kataloge, Datenblätter und Konfiguratoren, mit den notwendigen Daten in bis zu 23 Sprachen bereitgestellt werden. Um die Anforderung umzusetzen, die Produktdaten auch für verschiedene Klassifizierungsstandards bereitzustellen, damit diese in den Kunden-Anwendungen genutzt werden können, musste das PIM System erweitert werden. Der Elektrogroßhandel benötigt für seine Prozesse die Produktdaten der Hersteller im Format des Klassifizierungssystems ETIM. Für die Unterstützung der e-Procurement-Prozesse der Kunden und die Bereitstellung der Engineering Daten für die CAE-Tools soll das Klassifikationssystem eCl@ss ADVANCED unterstützt werden.

Lösungsansatz

Zusammen mit Paradine und dem PIM Systemlieferanten wurde der Klassifizierungsstandard in mehreren eCl@ss ADVANCED Releases implementiert (Konzepterstellung, Datenmodellierung, Q&A). Dazu wurden entsprechende Anpassungen am PIM vorgenommen und als wesentliche neue Funktionalität die Möglichkeit des Mappings der eigenen Produkt-Strukturelemente auf die jeweiligen eCl@ss Strukturelemente umgesetzt. Ist das Mapping aller relevanten eCl@ss ADVANCED Merkmale einer Klasse einmalig erstellt, werden automatisch die gepflegten Produktdaten aller dieser Klasse zugeordneten Produkte in die eCl@ss Merkmale kopiert. Die so generierten eCl@ss Daten werden im BMEcat-Format exportiert und können so den Kunden in den benötigten Sprachen zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

eCatCreator

Paradine liefert mit dem „eCatCreator“ eine schnelle und kosteneffiziente PC basierte Software Lösung für die rasche Erstellung von Produktbeschreibungen auf eCl@ss Basis. Mit Hilfe des eCatCreators von Paradine sind eCl@ss basierende elektronische Kataloge im BMEcat-Format rasch in verschiedenen eCl@ss Releases in BASIC und ADVANCED erstellt und können für Kunden bereitgestellt werden. eCatCreator ermöglicht es dem Nutzer bestehende eCl@ss basierende elektronische BMEcat Kataloge zu importieren, gegebenenfalls zu bearbeiten und auf deren Konformität (Aspekte, Blöcke, Kardinalität und Polymorphismus) zu überprüfen. Der eCatCreator unterstützt Mappings zwischen eCl@ss BASIC und ADVANCED und ermöglicht die Umwandlung von erfassten Produkten von ADVANCED zu BASIC und visa versa.

Vorteile durch den eCatCreator für Phoenix Contact

  • Rasche Bereitstellung von Referenzdaten für die eigene Systemimplementierung
  • Verifizierung der eigenen eCl@ss Implementierung im Phoenix Contact PIM System
  • Validieren von ausgeleiteten Katalogen aus dem Phoenix Contact PIM System
  • Frühzeitige rasche Erstellung und Bereitstellung von Testkatalogen für Phoenix Contact im eCl@ss ADVANCED Format
  • Mapping der Phoenix Contact Produktbeschreibungen von eCl@ss ADVANCED auf eCl@ss BASIC

Über Phoenix Contact

Phoenix Contact ist weltweiter Marktführer für Komponenten, Systeme und Lösungen im Bereich der Elektrotechnik, Elektronik und Automation. Das Familien-Unternehmen beschäftigt heute 12.800 Mitarbeiter weltweit und hat in 2012 einen Umsatz von 1,59 Mrd. Euro getätigt. Der Stammsitz ist im westfälischen Blomberg. Zur Phoenix Contact-Gruppe gehören neun Unternehmen sowie 50 eigene Vertriebs-Gesellschaften. Die weltweite Präsenz wird zusätzlich durch 30 Vertretungen in Europa und Übersee verdichtet.

Download

 Phoenix Contact - Success Story-DE
 Phoenix Contact - Success Story-EN